Guidelines for Obtaining a Marriage License

Marriage license applications are taken from 8:30 AM through 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday, except legal holidays.

Both parties must appear together to complete the application.

Marriage License fee:  $51.00 cash, check or credit/debit card (with convenience fee).

A valid driver's license or other form of photo ID is required.  You will also be required to provide your social security number. If there has been a previous marriage, the month and the year when the last marriage ended will need to be provided.

The marriage license will be issued immediately upon completion of the application.  Your license is valid for thirty days starting the day it is issued.  After that date the license is no longer valid and may not be used.  (RSMo 451.040)

The person performing the ceremony is required by law to have the marriage license before the ceremony.   

The marriage license must be returned to the Recorder's office from which it was issued within 15 days after the marriage.  Failure to make such return is a misdemeanor.  The license used or not used must be returned to our office.

For questions, please contact the Recorder's Office @ 660-259-6178.

AGE REQUIREMENT CHANGE
Governor Mike Parson signed legislation to modify age requirments for marriage licenses in Missouri that will take effect on August 28, 2018.

Senate Bill 655, which was passed by the Missouri Legislature and signed into law, prohibits marriage licenses from being issued if either party is under 16 years of age.  Additionally, the legislation bars the marriage of individuals 21 or older to anyone under age 18.  Parental consent will still be required for minors to marry someone under age 21.

SOCIAL SECURITY INFORMATION
www.ssa.gov

Office Locations:

3520 S. Noland Rd
Suite C
Independence, MO  64055
866-864-1517

3404 W. 10th St.
Sedalia, MO  65301
877-405-5459